Gen 1 ~ Crescendo Orchid ~ Chapter Six

Chapter Six: My Happy Ending

“Did you have fun today, kiddo?” I asked Coral as we walked up the steps to our house. I took Illusion and Coral to the park today—since Kale was working, I decided it was time for us girls to hang out. Just the three of us. They both insisted on staying at the park until it was time to go home.

“Yes!” Coral exclaimed, and I beamed down at her before I placed my hand on the door.

Something was wrong. Something was very wrong. I remember distinctly locking the front door, and now it was unlocked. I was able to turn the handle and the door flew wide open.

Cautiously, I took a step inside.

“Daddy!” Illusion and Coral cried, running over to Kale who was sitting on the couch. But his position was all wrong—he wasn’t even supposed to be home now anyways. I racked my brain trying to figure out why he was home so early.

“Hi baby girls, why don’t you go get changed into your pj’s?” He greeted them. Something in his voice was off…I couldn’t explain what it was, though…

“Okay!” Illusion agreed quickly, anything to please her daddy, and ran off into her room.

“Will you come in and read me a story?” Coral asked. A very faint smile crossed his lips.

“We’ll see, honey.” He said slowly, and Coral took off after her sister.

When the door to their room slammed shut, Kale stood up slowly.

“I didn’t know you were home,” I said, and my only reply was the silence in the air. I took a deep breath, trying to figure out what could possibly be going on.

He turned to face me now. “We need to talk.” He said in a serious, emotionless tone.

“Sure,” I started, my voice cracking, “about what?”

Ooh, ooh

“Us.” He stated like it was obvious.

Silence. He wasn’t going to speak again. He stood there, staring at me with cold eyes.

I swallowed. “Oh?”

“I’ll just cut to the chase.”

Even more silence. The silence was unbearable, I wish he’d just spit it out, whatever the issue may be.

“Which is?” I prompted.

Ooh, ooh

“It’s not working.”

My heart stopped beating in my chest. “What?” the word came as a pained breath.

“You, me — us — Crescendo, it’s not working.” I felt as if somebody had punched me in the chest. The room began to spin, my vision starting to dance.

“I don’t understand,” I gasped. “What are you saying?”

“It’s time for us to go our separate ways.”

In that instant, my heart shattered into a million tiny crystallized pieces as soon as that fatal sentence left those flawless lips.

So much for my happy ending

“No,” the sound came from my throat, making a strangled noise rather than a word. “No,”

“Crescendo, don’t make this harder than it has to be.” I could feel my hands starting to tremble, so I hid them behind my back to keep him from seeing.

“What did I do?” I whispered, feeling completely numb.

He sighed, looking grim. “You didn’t do anything.”

More silence.

“I thought you loved me,” I dug my fingers into my palm. Wake up.

Please wake up.

Held up so high on such a breakable thread 

“Crescendo,” Kale said, sounding like his regular self — his nice self — my Kale.

Its nice to know that you were there

But instantly that Kale—my Kale—was gone and replaced with this new, emotionless one. “I don’t love you, and I never have.”

Thanks for acting like you cared

Whatever was left of the pieces of my heart disintegrated in that instant. I lost complete and total feeling in my body. I felt faint, my vision around the edges started to blur. “What?” it was barely audible.

And yet he heard it.

“Crescendo, I don’t love you! I never have and I NEVER will! I’m in love with someone ELSE!”

And making me feel like I was the only one 

“I’m horrified that I let this go on this long.” He continued.

It’s nice to know we had it all

“Kale…” I found myself whispering

“Oh come on, Crescendo, you had to see this coming.”

Thanks for watching as I fall

“We’re over, Crescendo, I never want to see you or this house ever again.”

And letting me know we were done

And with that, he turned around and headed towards the door…

You were everything,

everything that I wanted

We were meant to be,

supposed to be,

but we lost it

And all the memories so close to me just fade away

All this time you were pretending

So much for my happy ending

ooh, ooh,

So much for my happy ending

My Happy Ending – Avril Lavigne
This entry was posted in Generation 1. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Gen 1 ~ Crescendo Orchid ~ Chapter Six

  1. What. The. Frick. Just. Happened?
    I was supposed to stop reading after this chapter to go and do some uni work, now that’s clearly not going to happen, I’ve got to read on.

    • D: A lot happened…it’ll probably make sense later in another generation (which you’ve probably read by now) but thank you so much for reading my rainbowcy <3.
      Haha I'm glad that I can have that affect on people :]

  2. medleymisty says:

    WTH, man? WTH?

    I’ll bet that someone is mind controlling him or put a spell on him or something. Maybe her blue friend.

    I’ve really identified with Cressy here because I’ve been an outcast and gossiped about and had friends turn on me in the Sims community, so yeah. I am all emotionally invested. And I know from my own experiences that when someone comes back like that and tries to act all apologetic, it’s very possible that they’re up to something. Sigh.

    *hugs Cressy*

    • And so the tragedy that is my story beings ;__;

      That is a very interesting idea you have there :3.

      I know that pain as well – I’ve had some very close friends of mine turn on me as well. I know exactly what you mean all too well.

      Everybody in my rainbowcy needs a hug at one point in their life :C

  3. Mia says:

    I’m gonna go right ahead and guessss…blackmail or death threat…or both. Something along those lines. It’s what I’d do anyway ;D loving this story so far by the way.

  4. I was going to wait til the end of the generation before leaving a comment, but that did not sound like the Kale that we all know at all :/

    I’m hoping that someone behind the scenes is pulling the strings, and that hasn’t come from him. But a very touching chapter, by the way, this legacy is really good

  5. Jax says:

    What the flip??? O_O KALE. No. Something is totally off. I’m not buying this for a second. I have to know more!

  6. anabellehope says:

    Actually i never read generation1 properly cause i thought it will hurt my feelings. But i decide to be brave and i was right.it hurt my feelings so badly.
    Any way. The song was matching perfectly. Your choice was wonderful.
    I have a question. What happend for crescendo and kale at last? Were they seperated forever?

    • Really? Well…generation two ended up kind of spoiling something for you then XD. I’m really sorry about the hurt feelings…I can’t write happy well. Thank you so much, I thought the song choice for the generation was perfect as well :3.
      That…that may or may not be answered before the rainbowcy ends. :3

  7. anabellehope says:

    oh my. it means… i shouldn’t give up hope yet! wait,wait,wait.
    oh its killing me. please give a small hint at least.
    and another question. i heard in the rainbowcies the founder is usually white, grey or black. and there is a order. for example, green marries teal.i guess you dont like following the rules do you?
    btw, sad or happy i will always read your legacy. and i’m sure i’m not the only one.

    • I’m sorry, I’m a tad confused – give you a small hint to what? Yes, the founder is usually a neutral color, but, I didn’t really want to follow that. I honestly loved the rainbowcy idea, but I didn’t want to start with a neutral colored founder, so I decided to do what I wanted to do and make the founder pink.
      Thank you so much, that means the world to me <3.

  8. anabellehope says:

    Your writing styles remind me of j.k rolling. For example some questions ( like mine about cressy and kale) wont be answered until the end.

  9. Janes Legacy says:

    What. The. Gummy. Bears?! I hope the private investigators’ are the main cause of this, though I suspect they are; I never thought Kale would care about other’s opinions. 😥 They seemed so happy together, now it seems like some sort of new Kale is replacing him… I wonder what’s going on. *Swims through puddle of over emotionally tears to chapter seven*

  10. VividSims says:

    What a douche. I really hope this has nothing to do with Ice. >.>

Any thoughts?